anime

Higurashi no Nakoro ni review

maxresdefault

Hi guys, I don’t know if I’ve said this before on my blog, but I really don’t like horror stuff, but I gave this anime a go since it is really popular in the community and my best friend really likes it. Let’s see how it did.

Synopsis:

Keiichi Maebara moved to a village named Himizawa in the summer of 1983. Soon he becomes best friends with the girls Mion Sonozaki, Rika Furude, Rena Ryuuguu and Satoko Hojo. As the annual “Cotton-drifting festival” is approaching, Keiichi learns more about the legend of Himizawa and its deity, Oyashiro as well as its past and serial deaths that occur on the festival night every year due to Oyashiro’s curse. Whenever he tries to talk about that with his friends, they just stay silent and go away. His paranoia gets stronger with every passing day and is slowly driving him crazy.

Review:

The story itself is told through many different arcs and that gives it a sense of uniqueness and mystery due to the various points of view and is sure to keep the viewers intrigued and watching. The characters are not even close to being one-dimensional, each and every one of the main cast has a rich and unique story to tell that works so well with them and ties in beautifully with the main story. The different arcs help so much with the character development that it’s insane. I cannot praise the character development enough in this anime. The artstyle had a nostalgic feel to it, for me at least because it reminded me of the anime series I used to watch as a kid. That being said, it’s not amazing, but it’s good. The soundtrack was kinda meh, I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it. The opening’s slightly better than the ending theme though. The ending was really powerful, but it was also a bit of a cliffhanger.

Pros:

  • Great story
  • Great characters
  • Good artstyle
  • Okay soundtrack
  • Storytelling is done through different arcs

 

Cons:

  • Keiichi is a bit naive and irrational

 

Rating:

I’d give this anime 9.5/10 mostly because I was yelling at Keiichi to not make the obvious mistakes the whole time XD If you haven’t already, check this anime out.

Leave a Reply

