music

The new era of Gaga

033016-lady-gaga-cake

I’ve been wanting to keep this to myself and I don’t know why. Ever since I listened to “Joanne”, Lady Gaga’s new album, I have felt a strong connection to it, but I also felt that Gaga as we used to know her is slowly fading away and I’m not saying it’s a bad thing at all. Hear me out on this one, Lady Gaga has been around since 2008 and in her time in the spotlight she gave us some of the most iconic pop anthems that will make people dance for many generations to come. Now I will be the first one to admit that I took an unintentional break from being a little monster from 2010 to 2014, so I didn’t even notice how much she has already changed. I won’t lie, at first I liked her only because she was “weird” to my kid-self and her music was making me sing and dance and I loved sharing that experience with my best friend at the time, but now I get that her songs have a deeper meaning to them and that some of them send out beautiful messages. I very much liked her artistic costumes and music videos, but now I’ve noticed I have never actually looked at the girl behind the makeup and the spotlight and I mean it literally and metaphorically. When I first came back I could not believe that the Gaga who sang “Applause” was actually the same person who sang “Paparazzi” back then because I have never actually seen her real face just because the makeup, the effects and the costumes were too distracting and now when she doesn’t have anything of that sort on I feel like I can finally just listen to her voice and not care about anything else, now, after 8 years I can finally say: “Yes, that’s the girl who sang Alejandro, yes, that’s the girl who sang Bad Romance!” I feel like she has said goodbye to extravagant, over-the-top Gaga with “ArtPop” and now she just wants to be herself again. Recently she said she will not wear anymore crazy outfits or makeup just because she wants people to focus on what she has to say with her music, she wants to be able to wear casual clothes when she preforms and I agree. I loved sparkly, avant garde Gaga, but with her gone I could finally relate to her songs and feel some kind of deeper connection above the rebellion. Let Gaga’s new album “Joanne” touch your heart like it did mine and truly meet the girl behind the aura, Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta.

Leave a Reply

