anime

Taimadou Gakuen 35 Shiken Shoutai review

One of my resolutions for 2016 is to be more strict with my reviews. Let me be honest, I was truly happy with my reviews at first, but as I started to look deeper into more and more reviews I realized I was being too nice. Let’s begin

taimadou-gakuen-35-shiken-shoutai-anime-01

Taimadou Gakuen 35 Shiken Shoutai (English: Anti-Magic Academy 35th Test Platoon) is fantasy, military and ecchi type of anime. The basic plot revolves around a man named Takeru Kusanagi who came into Anti-magic academy to pay his bills and take care of his younger sister, however, his platoon 35 is not very successful in gaining points from catching criminals, in fact, they are the worst. One day a skilled girl named Ouka Otori joins the platoon and they became more successful. While fighting a witch Takeru obtains a “relic eater”, armor in a form of a little girl named Lapis. They fight together against the organisation named Valahalla, the evil witches in short. Also, the chairman, Ouka’s step-father is nuts, I can’t come to a conclusion if he’s bad or good. One time he plays good, but then his story gets darker and everything becomes confusing.  Now about my feelings about this. I feel like this anime has a lot of potential, but it never uses it. It’s almost like the creators were like: “Oh, this mission is getting boring, let’s do a completely new one and resume with this one once the other one gets old.” To me the storyline is kinda jumping all over the place and it confuses me. The characters are fine, kinda what you would expect, each one of them has their own dark past in some way. One character called Ikaruga Suginami is too much perverted.  I can’t figure out if she’s bisexual or she’s just messing with everyone. The artstyle was not bad, but you know, it wasn’t great either. The opening and the ending songs are very catchy, ones of my favorites in fact, I found myself humming them a few times. With all that in mind I would give this one a 6. It was fine, nothing to write home about.

Leave a Reply

